Connect With Us



The Christchurch | South Island wine regions share temperate maritime climates with coastal breezes, vibrantly warm and bright days and cool clear nights. Marlborough hosts the highest sunshine hours in the country and is principally frost free, while further south, Canterbury and Central Otago experience cooler growing conditions. These distinctive contrasts are expressed from year to year in the style and exceptional quality of premium South Island wines.

The five South Island wine regions that make up the Christchurch | South Island Great Wine Capital are Nelson, Marlborough, Waipara Valley, Canterbury and Central Otago.

The regions host spectacularly different – yet equally beautiful – landscapes, with varying weather patterns and vineyard styles. New Zealand is a tight-knit country, which is evident in the relationship between these five wine regions – all strongly interconnected through history, culture and economics.

GWC Blog

December 2, 2014
This article, written by Paris-based Swedish wine writer Britt Karlson, participated in the 2014...